Patience

3 Feb

Patience is something that I have been thinking about a lot since becoming a Mama. Each response given to my son can be either said with understanding and patience, or reaction and frustration. Parenting toddlers is hard work! You know, like when they dump the dog food all over the floor, or decide that they absolutely, under no circumstance will they be putting on their winter jacket. In these moments I have a choice on how I respond to my sweet tiny human (that I have the privilege of calling my son.) I can take a deep breath and respond in a loving and caring way, that will nurture my child, while at the same time teaching him, or I can react.

Yes, before you say anything, I know I have been a parent for all of two seconds but I have been working with children long before this. The same rules apply whether you are parenting the child or not. In order for progress, there must be a trusting relationship that is formed and maintained.

  
I was looking back on our adoption journey. You know, the one that took many years to complete, and while I was not always patient, I have learned so much what it means to be patient and the amount of good that can come when you are.

  
I honestly believe that I am a better parent because of the long and trying process that we went through to get to Asher. I look and him and think that if I wasn’t patient and if I would have gotten what I wanted (a baby) when I wanted it (NOW) then things would be so different and we would not have our sweet son. I cannot even imagine this and that very thought makes me so sure that some of THE best things are worth waiting for.

  
I look at my son with such amazement and excitement. I am grateful every day for him and the joy he has brought into our home. I am thankful that I am a more patient, understanding and loving mother because of our long journey to find him.

  
So this is me admitting that 1. I do not always know best 2. even though the long journey to our son almost killed me, I would do it all over again! and 3. I of course will have my moments that I react and have to later apologize to my son, but I am confident that if I choose patience more times than not, Asher will grow into someone that responds with love and understanding…and thats all I can hope for!  

  
 

4 Responses to “Patience”

  1. Linda & Dad February 3, 2016 at 12:31 pm #

    Beautiful, Kirstin!! Thanks for writing this. And I have to say it again, you are an excellent writer! (dont say aw shucks)

  2. Sandy Rabishaw February 3, 2016 at 12:34 pm #

    We love following your story!! Love all the pictures, they are beautiful!!

  3. Monica Miller February 3, 2016 at 1:29 pm #

    Well said! And something to think about from the start. And often. I’ve been listening to the podcast “Unruffled” and it has very similar messages. Thanks for being so real :p also love the pictures!

  4. Tracy February 3, 2016 at 6:53 pm #

    Very well written. Asher is lucky to have been chosen to be your son, ox

Leave a comment